Home > Members Directory > Seanad > 2nd > Nominated by the Taoiseach

Switch to Dáil

Seanad Members' Directory

Search Members

within Seanad

Dr. Douglas Hyde

Dr. Douglas Hyde

(17/01/1860 - 12/07/1949)

Party: Independent (Independent members of the 2nd Seanad)

Elected to the Seanad at a by-election on 4 February 1925 to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Sir William Hutcheson Poë
Defeated in the 1925 Seanad election
Deemed to have vacated his seat pursuant to Article 12.5.2 of the Constitution on his election on 4 May 1938 to be President of Ireland
Died 12 July 1949