Education Committee to consider the possible impact of Brexit and resume deliberations on proposed legislation

20 March 2017

The Joint Committee on Education and Skills will tomorrow meet with to resume their scrutiny of the Education (Amendment) Bill 2015, in the name of Deputy Jim Daly, and continue their pre-legislative scrutiny of the General Scheme of the Education (Parent and Student Charter) Bill 2016 in Session A. In Session B, the Committee will also consider the possible implications of Brexit on the Irish Educational System.

Session A will commence at 4.00pm in Committee Room 2 tomorrow, Tuesday, 21 March 2017.

Committee Chairperson, Fiona O’Loughlin TD, said “At our initial meeting on these pieces of proposed legislation, we looked at ways in which we could increase transparency around how schools do their work and how the interaction between the students, the parents, and the teachers could be improved. Broadly speaking, the establishment of an Ombudsman for Education and the requirement that schools would publish and operate a Parent and Student Charter would go some way to achieving this transparency. Tomorrow we will have the chance to further these discussions with representative unions and training boards.”

“We will also consider the possible implications of Brexit on the Irish Educational System. Previously, we have noted that there are many challenges facing the education system in areas such as; how to protect and improve the future of higher education in Ireland in comparison with our European neighbours, the strategic importance of further education, apprenticeships and training, as well as issues that arise in qualification and skills recognition, as the UK leaves the EU.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Committee Membership:

Chairperson: Fiona O'Loughlin TD (Fianna Fáil)


Joan Burton (Labour)
Thomas Byrne (Fianna Fáil)
Ciaran Cannon (Fine Gael)
Jim Daly (Fine Gael)
Catherine Martin (Green Party)
Carol Nolan (Sinn Féin)


Maria Byrne (Fine Gael)
Robbie Gallagher (Fianna Fáil)
Trevor Ó'Clochartaigh (Sinn Féin)
Lynn Ruane (Independent)


Déan ceangal linn

Íoslódáil an aip