Candidates for RTÉ Board and Broadcasting Authority to Present Credentials to Oireachtas Communications Committee

Those candidates for the boards of RTÉ and the new Broadcasting Authority, selected by an interview board made up of members of the Oireachtas Committee on Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, will attend a meeting of the Committee, tomorrow, (16th) at 9:45 am in Committee Room 1 of Leinster House.

The Committee will recommend four candidates to serve on each board who have the appropriate skills and knowledge to help deliver high quality and effectively regulated broadcasting services in Ireland.

This is the first occasion in which an Oireachtas Committee has been mandated to recommend individuals for appointment to the board of a state agency. The four candidates, if ratified by the Committee, will join the five members of the board recently appointed by the Minister Eamon Ryan TD.

Committee Chairman MJ Nolan TD,
“The purpose of tomorrow’s meeting is to give Committee members a forum to question the candidates in order to confirm that they have the requisite skills and experience to serve on these important authorities and will also afford the candidates an opportunity to address the full Joint Committee.

Before the Committee makes any recommendation, it must be certain that those going forward for the positions are capable of making a positive contribution to broadcasting and regulation in Ireland.”

The new Broadcasting Authority will replace the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland (BCI) and the Broadcasting Complaints Commission (BCC) and for the first time will regulate both commercial and public service broadcasting. The RTÉ Board is charged with overseeing the activities of the RTÉ Group. The RTÉ Director-General reports directly to the RTÉ Board.

Daniel English
Oireachtas Communications Unit
01 618 4484
087 6949926
Committee Membership
M.J. Nolan TD, Fianna Fáil, (Chairman)
Peter Kelly TD, Fianna Fáil, (Vice Chairman)
Noel Coonan TD, Fine Gael
Simon Coveney TD, Fine Gael
Michael D'Arcy TD, Fine Gael
Jimmy Devins TD, Fianna Fáil
Mattie McGrath TD, Fianna Fáil
Joe McHugh TD, Fine Gael
Liz McManus TD, Labour Party
Michael Moynihan TD, Fianna Fáil
John Browne TD, Fianna Fáil
Senator Maria Corrigan, Fianna Fáil
Senator Joe O'Reilly, Fine Gael
Senator Jim Walsh, Fianna Fáil
Senator Joe O’Toole, Independent