Clerks of Dáil & Seanad take delivery of report on Expert Commission on water

The Clerk of Dáil Éireann and the Clerk of Seanad Éireann have taken delivery of the report of the Expert Commission on the funding of domestic public water services in Ireland.

The report will now be referred to the Joint Committee on the Future Funding of Domestic Water Services which will deliberate the findings and report back to the Oireachtas by 28 February, or within three months of its first public meeting, whichever is the later.

The Committee was established by a motion of Dáil Éireann on 24 November and the members
shall be appointed as follows:

•    five members appointed by the Government,

•    four members appointed by Fianna Fáil,

•    two members appointed by Sinn Féin,

•    one member each appointed by the Labour Party, the Anti-Austerity Alliance–People Before Profit (AAA-PBP), Independents 4 Change, the Rural Independent Group, and the Social Democrats–Green Party Group;

The Chairman of the Joint Committee shall be Senator Pádraig Ó Céidigh

The three remaining Seanad Members of the Committee will be agreed at a later date

The Oireachtas will consider and vote upon the recommendations of the committee within a one month period which is by end March 2017.

The motion establishing the committee can be accessed here:

The report can be accessed here.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551