Committee on the Future Funding of Domestic Water Services to hold first meeting

The Committee on the Future Funding of Domestic Water Services will hold its first meeting tomorrow, Tuesday, 13 December 2016 when it will hear from Kevin Duffy, Expert Commission on Domestic Public Water Services.

Chairman of the Committee Pádraig Ó Céidigh: “The report of the Expert Commission on the funding of domestic public water services in Ireland was presented to the Oireachtas at the end of November. It is now our job to analyse the report, deliberate on its findings and report back to the Oireachtas with recommendations. We have a volume of work ahead of us and a logical place to start is to hear from Kevin Duffy, the Chairman of the Expert Commission, who will provide an outline presentation of the Expert Commission’s report to Members tomorrow. As chairman, I intend to take professional, non-partisan and inclusive approach to the Committee’s work programme. I already have had informal meetings with Committee Members and I am asking them to engage with the issues with an open mind. I am looking forward to working with all of my colleagues on the Committee to ensure we serve the Irish people and find solutions which best serve the public.”

The Joint Committee on the Future Funding of Domestic Water Services will meet in Committee Room 4, at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, 13th December, 2016. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership

Chairman of the Committee Pádraig Ó Céidigh


Colm Brophy        Fine Gael
Mary Butler        Fianna Fáil
Barry Cowen        Fianna Fáil
Jim Daly        Fine Gael
Alan Farrell        Fine Gael
Noel Grealish        Independent
Seamus Healy        Workers and Unemployed Action Group South-Tipperary
Martin Heydon        Fine Gael
John Lahart        Fianna Fáil
Paul Murphy        AAA-PBP
Eoin Ó Broin        Sinn Féin
Jonathan O’Brien    Sinn Féin
Kate O’Connell        Fine Gael
Willie O’Dea        Fianna Fáil
Jan O’Sullivan        Labour Party
Thomas Pringle        Independent


Paudie Coffey        Fine Gael
Lorraine Clifford-Lee    Fianna Fáil
Grace O’Sullivan    Green Party