Justice & Equality Committee to carry out pre-legislative scrutiny and discuss refugee crisis

Pre-legislative scrutiny and immigration and the refugee crisis will be on the agenda of the Joint Committee on Justice and Equality at its meeting tomorrow, Wednesday, 14 December 2016.

The schedule for the meeting is:

(i) Pre-Legislative Scrutiny on the General Scheme of the Equality/Disability (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill; and
(ii) Immigration and the Refugee Crisis
[Minister of State at the Department of Justice and Equality].

Committee Chairman Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin said: “As well as considering pre-Legislative Scrutiny on the General Scheme of the Equality/Disability (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill, we will also engage with the Minister of State on immigration and the refugee crisis, which is one of the most serious issues facing the world today with all developed countries having a role and responsibility in providing assistance to save lives and finding long-term solutions.  Tomorrow’s meeting will be an opportunity for Members to discuss with the Minister the efforts by Ireland and the international community to provide adequate support, protection and solutions for refugees.”

This meeting will take place in Committee Room 2 at 9am tomorrow, Wednesday, 14 December 2016.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Email: Ciaran.brennan@oireachtas.ie
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin (Chairman)     Sinn Féin
Colm Brophy                Fine Gael
Jack Chambers                Fianna Fáil
Clare Daly                Independents4Change
Alan Farrell                Fine Gael
Jim O’Callaghan            Fianna Fáil
Mick Wallace                Independents4Change


Frances Black                Civil Engagement Group
Lorraine Clifford-Lee            Fianna Fáil
Martin Conway                Fine Gael
Niall Ó Donnghaile            Sinn Féin