PAC to recall NAMA in relation records of Board Meetings

Officials from NAMA will appear before the Public Accounts Committee tomorrow, 14 December 2016, to discuss its policy re preparation of Board minutes and records relating to these.

Committee Chairman Seán Fleming said: “In relation to its hearing on NAMA's sale of Project Eagle, the Committee had requested a copy of any contemporaneous notes - in the format taken during the meeting - that were used in the subsequent preparation of the minutes of NAMA Board meetings held on 12 December 2013 and 8 January 2014.

“NAMA responded to the Committee that once NAMA Board minutes are adopted by the Board members, they are the official record of that particular meeting. As a result, the Board Secretary’s contemporaneous notes of the meeting are transitory records and are not retained.

“I find it surprising that at key meetings where the sale of Northern Ireland assets worth £1.3bn was being discussed that notes from which the minutes were to be prepared have not been retained by NAMA. Put simply, this means these records have been disposed of and were destroyed.  Therefore, the Committee has agreed to recall NAMA to discuss this matter.”

This meeting will take place in Committee Room 3 at 10am on Wednesday, 14 December 2016. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Bobby Aylward        Fianna Fáil
Peter Burke        Fine Gael
Shane Cassells        Fianna Fáil
Catherine Connolly    Independent
David Cullinane        Sinn Féin
Alan Farrell        Fine Gael
Séan Fleming        Fianna Fáil
Alan Kelly        Labour
Marc MacSharry        Fianna Fáil
Josepha Madigan    Fine Gael
Mary Lou McDonald    Sinn Féin
Noel Rock        Fine Gael
Catherine Murphy    Social Democrats-Green Party Group