Regional Development, Rural Affairs, Arts & the Gaeltacht Committee to discuss Inis Mór Ferry Service

The Committee on Regional Development, Rural Affairs, Arts and the Gaeltacht will meet with representatives from Galway County Council agus Comhar na nOileán Teo tomorrow, Wednesday 14 December to discuss the Inis Mór Ferry Service.

Cathaoirleach of the Committee Peadar Tóibín said: “Ferry services to Inis Mór were suspended briefly following a dispute between the ferry operators and Galway County Council over passenger levies proposed by the council. The ferry service did resume at the beginning of this month following talks with the Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, Galway County Council and the ferry operators and will remain in place until the beginning of January, pending further discussions between the parties. The Committee will be keen to discuss how the issues involved can be resolved for the benefit all concerned.”

This meeting will start at 2.15pm, tomorrow, Wednesday, 14 December 2016 in Committee Room 4, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Peadar Tóibín (Chairman)    Sinn Féin
Ciaran Cannon            Fine Gael
Michael Collins            Rural Independents Group
Danny Healy Rae        Rural Independents Group
Martin Heydon            Fine Gael
Éamon Ó Cúiv            Fianna Fáil
Niamh Smyth            Fianna Fáil


Maura Hopkins            Fine Gael
Marie-Louise O’Donnell        Independent
Aodhán Ó Riordáin        Labour
Fintan Warfield            Sinn Féin