Ministers to appear before Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs Committee

Heather Humphreys TD, Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs and Mr Seán Kyne TD, Minister for Gaeltacht Affairs and Natural Resources will appear before the Committee on Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs tomorrow, Thursday 15 December 2016.

The agenda for tomorrow’s meeting is:

•    The ferry service to Inis Mór, Contae na Gaillimhe;
•    The status and responsibilities of Comhar na nOileán;
•    The West Cork Development Partnership;
•    The proposed Mary Robinson Centre in Ballina, Co Mayo;
•    The 2017 budget for the Irish language including funding for Foras na Gaeilge and Údarás na Gaeltachta

Cathaoirleach of the Committee Peadar Tóibín said: “Our Committee plays an important role in considering policy and providing an input into legislation which contributes to balanced regional development and the economic, social and cultural enhancement of rural Ireland and the Gaeltacht, as well as promoting the arts.  Our meeting with Minister Humphreys and Minister of State Kyne offers us an opportunity discuss a range of issues that are fundamental to our remit and our work programme and in which Members have a keen interest. In relation to the ferry service to Inis Mór, it is fundamental that citizens have a right and ability to travel from the island to the Mainland and the future of the island depends on this service. There has also been great controversy with regards to the spending of millions of euros on the proposed Mary Robinson Centre in Ballina. Although the project is now stalled and under review, we will be keen to examine the decision-making process behind the plans to develop the centre. We are looking forward to an update from both Ministers on these matters and a number of other key matters. It’s an opportunity for Members to raise any issues they may have in relation to the subjects on tomorrow’s agenda.”

This meeting will start at 2.15pm, tomorrow, Thursday, 15 December 2016 in Committee Room 4, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Peadar Tóibín (Chairman)    Sinn Féin
Ciaran Cannon            Fine Gael
Michael Collins            Rural Independents Group
Danny Healy Rae        Rural Independents Group
Martin Heydon            Fine Gael
Éamon Ó Cúiv            Fianna Fáil
Niamh Symth            Fianna Fáil


Maura Hopkins            Fine Gael
Marie-Louise O’Donnell        Independent
Aodhán Ó Riordáin        Labour
Fintan Warfield            Sinn Féin