Defence Committee wish all members of the Irish Defence Forces a happy and safe Christmas

16 December 2016

Members of the Oireachtas Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Defence, today expressed their sincere thanks and appreciation to members of the Irish Defence Forces, ahead of the Christmas period.

Chairman of the Committee, Brendan Smith TD said “The men and women who serve as part of the Army, Air Corps, Naval Service and Reserve Defence Forces are a credit to us nationally and internationally. The work that they do, on a daily basis, saves lives and it is important that this significant work is recognised and celebrated. In representing the Irish State they keep our borders safe, they bring aid to those that need it and they help many Nations around the world create and sustain peace.”

“This is done at great personal sacrifice, with missions abroad often lasting for extended periods of time. At this special time of year we thank those who have returned, we think of those currently serving abroad and we pay respect to the families of those that have paid the ultimate price in the course of duty.”

“In a time of unrest in many regions of the world we praise the personnel of the Irish Naval Service in particular who are doing important work in the Mediterranean sea in responding to the ongoing humanitarian crisis and the biggest mass movement of people since the Second World War.”

“To all Members of the Defence Forces, from the Oireachtas Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Defence we thank you for your service and we wish you a very happy and peaceful Christmas.”


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Joint Committee Membership:

Chairman: Brendan Smith TD (Fianna Fáil)


Seán Barrett TD (Fine Gael)
Seán Crowe TD (Sinn Fein)
Noel Grealish TD (Independent)
Tony McLoughlin TD (Fine Gael)
Darragh O’Brien TD (Fianna Fáil)
Maureen O’Sullivan TD (Independents4Change)


Ivana Bacik (Labour)
Mark Daly (Fianna Fáil)
Billy Lawless (Independent Group)
Gabrielle McFadden (Fine Gael)