Communications Committee invites submissions on Future Funding of Public Service Broadcasting

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment is inviting public submissions on the future funding of public service broadcasting.

The Committee is currently considering the future of public service broadcasting in Ireland, in particular the requisite level of public funding required for stations to fulfil their public service objectives.

The Committee has already held a number of preliminary hearings to provide an overview and update on the current situation.

Following on from that overview, the Joint Committee is carrying out a public consultation on the funding of public service broadcasting in Ireland and is seeking submissions from interested parties and stakeholders on the themes outlined below.

The Committee will consider any suitable written submissions received and may decide to invite a number of contributors to public hearings at a later date. It is also considering hosting a consultative forum at a later date (provisionally arranged for Dublin Castle on Monday 27 February 2017) on the future of public service broadcasting where stakeholders will feature.

The specific themes, under which the Committee is seeking submissions, are:

•    Theme 1: Additional services / growth in digital services
•    Theme 2: Funding / revenue generation
•    Theme 3: Commercial activities vs. public service objects
•    Theme 4: Advertising minutage
•    Theme 5: Outsourced / Independent production (external resources)
•    Theme 6: TG4 and Irish content / language
•    Theme 7: Conduct of the review process
•    Theme 8: Any other issue not covered in the above themes

Written submissions and communications should be sent by email. Submissions should be received not later than Thursday, 2 February 2017 at the following email address:

Further details on making a submission can be accessed here:
or contact:

The Clerk
Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment
Houses of the Oireachtas
Leinster House
Kildare Street
Dublin 2
D02 XR20

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Hildegarde Naughton (Chair)    Fine Gael
Timmy Dooley            Fianna Fáil
James Lawless            Fianna Fáil
Michael Lowry            Rural Technical Group
Eamon Ryan            Social Democrats - Green Party Group
Bríd Smith            AAA-PBP
Brian Stanley            Sinn Féin


Terry Leyden            Fianna Fáil
Tim Lombard            Fine Gael
Michael McDowell        Independent Group
Joe O’Reilly            Fine Gael