Climate Action and Environment Committee invites submissions on Fracking

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment is inviting public submissions on hydraulic fracturing or ‘fracking’.

The Prohibition of the Exploration and Extraction of Onshore Petroleum Bill 2016 was referred to the committee by the Dáil on 27 October 2016.

The Minister intends has referred the EPA report on Hydraulic Fracturing to the Committee. The Committee decided to undertake a detailed scrutiny (including a public consultation) of the provisions of this bill together with the EPA led Joint Research Programme on the Impacts of Hydraulic Fracturing on the Environment and Human Health.

Submissions should be received not later than Thursday, 2 February 2017 at the following email address:

The Committee will consider any suitable written submissions received and may decide to invite a number of contributors to public hearings should it be considered necessary.

Further details on making a submission can be accessed here:
or contact:

The Clerk
Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment
Houses of the Oireachtas
Leinster House
Kildare Street
Dublin 2
D02 XR20

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Hildegarde Naughton (Chair)    Fine Gael
Timmy Dooley            Fianna Fáil
James Lawless            Fianna Fáil
Michael Lowry            Rural Technical Group
Eamon Ryan            Social Democrats - Green Party Group
Bríd Smith            AAA-PBP
Brian Stanley            Sinn Féin


Terry Leyden            Fianna Fáil
Tim Lombard            Fine Gael
Michael McDowell        Independent Group
Joe O’Reilly            Fine Gael