Committee to examine the National Maternity Strategy and availability of the 20 week scan for pregnant women

15 February 2017

The Joint Committee on Health will tomorrow meet to continue their deliberations on the National Maternity Strategy 2016 – 2026. The Committee will hear from representatives from the Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (IOG) and the Association for Improvements in the Maternity Services Ireland (AIMS Ireland).

The meeting will commence at 9.00am in Committee Room 4 tomorrow, Thursday, 16 February 2017.

Committee Chairman, Dr. Michael Harty TD, said “In continuing our examination of the National Maternity Strategy, there are a number of areas that Committee Members will look to discuss with the IOG and AIMS such as the choice of maternity care available, the geographic spread of services across the country and the supports available in terms of perinatal mental health. In particular, however, we will also address issues surrounding the 20 week screening and diagnostic scan for pregnant women and its regional availability and importance.”

“The recommendations within the strategy are grouped under the headings of health and wellbeing, safety and quality, the model of care, and governance and workforce and we welcome the expert opinion of the IOG and AIMS in discussing how we can go about implementing these recommendations and achieving an improved maternity service for women, families and fathers.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Dr. Michael Harty, TD (Rural Independent Group)


Bernard Durkan TD (Fine Gael)
Billy Kelleher TD (Fianna Fáil)
Alan Kelly TD (Labour)
Kate O’Connell TD (Fine Gael)
Margaret Murphy O’Mahony TD (Fianna Fáil)
Louise O’Reilly TD (Sinn Fein)


Colm Burke (Fine Gael)
John Dolan (Civil Engagement Technical Group)
Rónán Mullen (Independent)
Dr. Keith Swanick (Fianna Fáil)