Health Committee to consider legislation on mandatory indemnity insurance for medical practitioners

7 March 2017

The Select Committee on Health will tomorrow consider Committee Stage of the Medical Practitioners (Amendment) Bill 2014 with the Minister of State with special responsibility for Health Promotion at the Department of Health, Marcella Corcoran Kennedy TD.

The meeting will commence at 4.00pm in Committee Room 3 tomorrow, Wednesday, 8 March 2017.

Committee Chairman Dr. Michael Harty TD said “Should this Bill become law, it would require the approximately 18,000 medical practitioners in Ireland to have adequate indemnity insurance, or other indemnity arrangement, for registration purposes. While there is no suggestion that there is any wide spread issue of doctor’s practising without adequate insurance, this legislation would simply address some incidences of doctors working in Ireland for short periods of time without adequate cover. This would have the effect of linking an individual’s insurance cover to their Medical Council registration and would cover all areas of practice, including the cosmetic sector.”

“This important piece of legislation would ensure that patients have recourse, where adverse outcomes occur, and we welcome the opportunity to engage with Minister Corcoran-Kennedy tomorrow in this regard.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

To read more about the Medical Practitioners (Amendment) Bill 2014 please see here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Dr. Michael Harty, TD (Rural Independent Group)


Bernard Durkan TD (Fine Gael)
Billy Kelleher TD (Fianna Fáil)
Alan Kelly TD (Labour)
Kate O’Connell TD (Fine Gael)
Margaret Murphy O’Mahony TD (Fianna Fáil)
Louise O’Reilly TD (Sinn Fein)


Colm Burke (Fine Gael)
John Dolan (Civil Engagement Technical Group)
Rónán Mullen (Independent)
Dr. Keith Swanick (Fianna Fáil