Finance Committee to scrutinise EU Risk Reduction Measures

The Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform, and Taoiseach will meet tomorrow, Thursday, 09 March at 9.30am in Committee Room 2, Leinster House.

08 March 2017

The schedule for the meeting is as follows:

(i)    Scrutiny of EU Proposal COM(2016)856 (Recovery and Resolution of Central Counterparties);

(ii)    Further scrutiny of EU legislative proposals COMs (2016)850, 851, 852, 853, 854 (Financial Sector Regulation - Risk Reduction Measures).

Representatives from the Department of Finance and Central Bank of Ireland will address the Committee.

Committee Chairman John McGuinness TD, said, “The purpose of this EU package of risk reduction measures is to increase the resilience of the European financial system. Officials from the Department of Finance and Central Bank of Ireland will attend tomorrow to discuss the measures in detail with the Committee, including the merits and any reservations which Ireland has on the proposals.”

Under the EU Treaty, national parliaments of the EU, including the Houses of the Oireachtas have the right to contribute directly to the debate on proposals for EU legislation.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Press Liaison Officer,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M:  +353 86 4100 898
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Chairman: John McGuinness TD (Fianna Fail)

Vice-Chairman: Senator Gerry Horkan (Fianna Fáil)


Peter Burke (Fine Gael);
Michael D’Arcy (Fine Gael);
Pearse Doherty (Sinn Féin);
Michael McGrath (Fianna Fail);
Paul Murphy (AAA);
Seán Sherlock (Labour)


Paddy Burke (Fine Gael);
Rose Conway-Walsh (Sinn Fein);
Kieran O’Donnell (Fine Gael)