Foreign Affairs and Trade Committee to look at the impact of Brexit on foreign policy and Irish exports

8 March 2017

The Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Defence will meet tomorrow to consider the potential impact of Brexit in two specific areas under their remit. In Session A, the Committee will hear from Dr. Karen Devine, Department of Law and Government in DCU, to discuss the possible implications of Brexit on Irish foreign policy. In Session B, the Committee will then hear from representatives from the Irish Exporters Association to discuss the potential impact of Brexit on Irish exporters under the trade promotion element of the Committee’s remit.

Session A will commence at 9.00am in Committee Room 1 tomorrow, Thursday, 9 March 2017. Session B will follow at 10.45am.

Committee Chairman, Brendan Smith TD, said “The Joint Committee has commenced a series of meetings on the potential impact of Brexit with a view to preparing a report on Irish foreign policy, EU security and defence policies and on the humanitarian aid sector. In a society and economy so closely linked to our nearest neighbours in the United Kingdom, it is important that we are cognisant of how our own foreign policy, and that of the EU, could be affected as a result of these negotiations. We welcome the expert opinion of Dr. Devine tomorrow in briefing the Committee, not only on the possible issues, but also her recommendations for stability.”

“The Committee will also have the chance to meet with representatives from the Irish Exporters Association to discuss what is a very important sector in the Irish economy. The UK is our largest export market for goods and services and any negative impact to our exports, as a result of Brexit could have alarming knock on effects to many dependent sectors. Foreign trade promotion and seeking new markets and routes to market is key to reducing the potential impact of Brexit.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:
Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Brendan Smith TD (Fianna Fáil)


Seán Barrett TD (Fine Gael)
Seán Crowe TD (Sinn Fein)
Noel Grealish TD (Independent)
Tony McLoughlin TD (Fine Gael)
Darragh O’Brien TD (Fianna Fáil)
Maureen O’Sullivan TD (Independents4Change)


Ivana Bacik (Labour)
Mark Daly (Fianna Fáil)
Billy Lawless (Independent Group)
Gabrielle McFadden (Fine Gael)