Irish Language Committee to discuss impact on Irish language post-Brexit

The Joint Committee on the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands will meet with Conradh na Gaeilge, Foras na Gaeilge and Belfast-based POBAL – Scátheagras phobal na Gaeilge, to discuss promoting the Irish Language on an all-Ireland basis after the British exit from the European Union.

Chairperson of the Committee Catherine Connolly TD: “Given the close economic, cultural, social and geographic ties between Ireland and Britain, Brexit will have far-reaching consequences for this country.

“Brexit could also result in challenges to the development of the Irish language across the island of Ireland and it is important that we frame the debate on this issue at the earliest stage.  There is also growing concern that the support for the development of the Irish language as a spoken community language across the island may be curtailed post-Brexit.  

“Therefore, we are taking this opportunity to meet with Irish language organisations from north and south to discuss these concerns and to approach the problem on an all-Ireland basis.”

This meeting will take place in Committee Room 4 at 5pm tomorrow, Tuesday, March 21 2017.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Catherine Connolly (Chair) Independent
Pat the Cope Gallagher    Fianna Fáil
Brendan Griffin    Fine Gael
Andrias Moynihan    Fianna Fáil
Fergus O’Dowd    Fine Gael
Bríd Smith     People Before Profit
Peadar Tóibín    Sinn Féin


Pádraig Ó Céidigh    Independent
Trevor Ó Clochartaigh    Sinn Féin
Brian Ó Domhnaill    Fianna Fáil
Joe O’Reilly    Fine Gael