Jobs Committee to resume scrutiny of the Banded Hours Contract Bill 2016

Committee will also meet Chair Designate of Health and Safety Authority

10 April 2017

The Joint Committee on Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation will meet tomorrow, Tuesday, 11 April at 4pm in Committee Room 3, Leinster House.


(i) Scrutiny of EU legislative proposals
Schedule A: COM(2016)34 and COM(2012)124 (Public procurement in third countries); COM(2016)662 (PRIMA initiative)
Schedule B: COM(2016)508; COM(2016)524; COM(2016)614; COM(2016)629; COM(2016)630; COM(2016)631;

(ii) Engagement with Mr. Tom Coughlan, Chairperson Designate, Health and Safety Authority (HSA); and

(iii) Detailed scrutiny of the Banded Hours Contract Bill 2016 [PMB] (resumed)

Session A: [Dr. Des Ryan, Lecturer in Law at Trinity College Dublin; and Representatives from the Law Society of Ireland]

Session B: [Representatives from ICTU; Mandate Trade Union; SIPTU; and Unite the Union]

Committee Chair, Mary Butler TD, said, “Tomorrow our Committee will continue its scrutiny of the Banded Hours Contract Bill, proposed by Deputy David Cullinane. The bill aims to tackle the exploitation of people on low hour contracts, especially in the retail sector, but also across many other sectors.”

“Prior to this, we will scrutinise EU legislative proposals and also meet Mr. Tom Coughlan, Chairperson Designate, Health and Safety Authority. Mr. Coughlan will outline his strategic vision for the future of the HSA.”

Committee proceedings can be followed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Committee Press Officer,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M: +353 86 4100 898
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Joint Committee Membership:

Chairperson: Mary Butler (Fianna Fáil)


Niall Collins (FF)
Stephen Donnelly (FF)
Tom Neville (FG)
Maurice Quinlivan (SF)
Noel Rock (FG)
Bríd Smith (AAA-PBP)


Aidan Davitt (FF)
Paul Gavan (SF)
Ged Nash (LAB)
James Reilly (FG)