Committee on Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs resumes hearings on sustaining rural communities

The Committee on Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs will continue its hearings on sustaining viable rural communities tomorrow, Wednesday, 12 April 2017.

Cathaoirleach of the Committee Peadar Tóibín said: “Tomorrow, the Joint Committee on Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs will meet with Jerh O'Donoghue, Chairperson, Rathmore Social Action Group and Peigí Uí Cheidigh Uasal, Tearmann Éanna.

“Rathmore Social Action Group in Kerry was set up in 1975 by secondary school teacher Jerh O’Donoghue. Since it was established, it has expanded to offer a diverse range of services for young people and the community and a care of older adults programme. Tearmann Éanna provides social and health facilities through a day centre in Tully, a rural area, west of Spiddal in Galway. The facility comprises a health centre, 20 social housing units and sheltered accommodation for people with learning difficulties.

“As we continue to focus on what it takes to sustain a viable rural community, we’re looking forward to hearing from these organisations which are at the heart of their communities in rural Ireland and getting their perspectives and insight on the measures necessary to develop, strengthen and grow rural communities.”

This meeting will start at 2.15pm, tomorrow, Wednesday, 12 April, 2017 in Committee Room 4, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Peadar Tóibín (Chairman)    Sinn Féin
Ciaran Cannon            Fine Gael
Michael Collins            Rural Independents Group
Danny Healy Rae        Rural Independents Group
Martin Heydon            Fine Gael
Éamon Ó Cuív            Fianna Fáil
Niamh Smyth            Fianna Fáil


Maura Hopkins            Fine Gael
Marie-Louise O’Donnell        Independent
Aodhán Ó Ríordáin        Labour
Fintan Warfield            Sinn Féin