EU Affairs Committee to meet with Minister Murphy on recent EU developments and the work of the General Affairs Council

11 April 2017

The Joint Committee on European Union Affairs will tomorrow meet with Mr. Dara Murphy T.D., Minister of State for European Affairs, to discuss a range of issues relative to the European Union Affairs remit.

The meeting will commence at 2.00pm in Committee Room 1 tomorrow, Wednesday, 12 April 2017.

Committee Chairman, Michael Healy-Rae TD, said “Tomorrow we will have the opportunity to discuss the key developments with regard to the UK’s notification of their intention to withdraw from the European Union, with Minister Murphy. As negotiations get underway, we look forward to hearing more from the Minister of State for European Affairs on the Governments negotiating position and strategy. Separately, we will also hear an update on the European Semester Process 2017, the framework for the coordination of economic policies across the European Union, and begin a discussion on the Future of Europe.”

“Building on our constructive meeting with Minister Murphy in February, we will also hear an update on the work of the General Affairs Council (GAC). The GAC has undertaken important work in areas such as the EU's budgetary framework, the fight against terrorism and creating jobs and improving competitiveness across the Union and so we welcome the opportunity to discuss these further with Minister Murphy.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Michael Healy-Rae TD (Independent)


Colm Brophy (Fine Gael)
Seán Crowe (Sinn Féin)
Bernard Durkan (Fine Gael)
Sean Haughey (Fianna Fáil)
Michael Healy-Rae (Rural Independent Group)
Mattie McGrath (Rural Independent Group)
Frank O'Rourke (Fianna Fáil)


Paul Coghlan (Fine Gael)
Gerard P. Craughwell (Independent Group)
Terry Leyden (Fianna Fáil)
Neale Richmond (Fine Gael)