Future Funding of Domestic Water Services Committee publishes report

The Committee on the Future Funding of Domestic Water Services has published its final report which was agreed on 11 April 2017.

The report deals with: funding; the role of regulators and compliance with EU law; equity and fairness; metering; conservation; and public engagement and transparency.

Committee Chairman Senator Pádraig Ó Céidigh said: “It is fair to say that, for a variety of reasons, as a State we have neglected our public water services over many years. This can be seen, for example, in terms of the lack of a proper level of funding of those services over the years, and the lack of reliability and poor performance of parts of the services.   It is clear that we require a vastly improved approach to how we finance, manage and use our water services in a sustainable way over the medium and long-term.

The task before the Joint Committee was challenging given the strong opinions that issues relating to the organisation and funding of our water services had generated in recent years. The Members of the Committee represented the full spectrum of views in this regard. The Report of the Expert Commission on Domestic Water Services highlighted the scale of the shortcomings of our current services and the steps that need to be taken to address them.   

In addressing the issues involved, the Joint Committee had to consider the many dimensions to the problem, including the legal framework – both national and EU – that needed to be observed, the regulatory regime that has oversight of the sector, the funding challenge, the need for environmental sustainability, and the need for prudence in the use of water services.

The recommendations of the Joint Committee provide a comprehensive, balanced and sustainable approach to addressing the challenges of our public water services. The work of the Committee was one part of an overall process. The report has now been forwarded to the Houses of the Oireachtas for their consideration. I am confident that its recommendations will provide the basis for a full consideration of the issues by the Houses of the Oireachtas, and by the Government.”

The report can be accessed here.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership

Chairman of the Committee Pádraig Ó Céidigh


Colm Brophy        Fine Gael
Mary Butler        Fianna Fáil
Barry Cowen        Fianna Fáil
Jim Daly        Fine Gael
Alan Farrell        Fine Gael
Noel Grealish        Independent
Seamus Healy        Workers and Unemployed Action Group South-Tipperary
Martin Heydon        Fine Gael
John Lahart        Fianna Fáil
Paul Murphy        AAA-PBP
Eoin Ó Broin        Sinn Féin
Jonathan O’Brien    Sinn Féin
Kate O’Connell        Fine Gael
Willie O’Dea        Fianna Fáil
Jan O’Sullivan        Labour Party
Thomas Pringle        Independent


Paudie Coffey        Fine Gael
Lorraine Clifford-Lee    Fianna Fáil
Grace O’Sullivan    Green Party