Health Committee to resume examination of legislation on the regulation of cannabis for medicinal use

12 April 2017

The Joint Committee on Health will tomorrow resume detailed scrutiny of the Cannabis for Medicinal Use Regulation Bill 2016 with officials from the Department of Health.

The meeting will commence at 9.00am in Committee Room 4 tomorrow, Thursday, 13 April 2017.

Committee Chairman Dr. Michael Harty TD said “At our last meeting on this Bill, with sponsor Gino Kenny TD, the Committee took a detailed and robust look at the cause and effect of each section of this piece of proposed legislation. Committee Members will now have the opportunity to discuss the proposals within the Bill, such as the regulation of cannabis for medicinal use and proposed establishment of a Cannabis Regulation Authority, with those responsible for implementing Government policy.”

“The Committee has undertaken a large body of work on this topic, with the aim of protecting the health of the public while being cognisant of existing regulations, and the many developments in the area have been discussed at length. We welcome the opportunity to further examine the Cannabis for Medicinal Use Regulation Bill 2016.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Follow the progress of the Cannabis for Medicinal Use Regulation Bill 2016 here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098 

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Dr. Michael Harty, TD (Rural Independent Group)


Bernard Durkan TD (Fine Gael)
Billy Kelleher TD (Fianna Fáil)
Alan Kelly TD (Labour)
Kate O’Connell TD (Fine Gael)
Margaret Murphy O’Mahony TD (Fianna Fáil)
Louise O’Reilly TD (Sinn Fein)


Colm Burke (Fine Gael)
John Dolan (Civil Engagement Technical Group)
Rónán Mullen (Independent)
Dr. Keith Swanick (Fianna Fáil)