Budgetary Oversight Committee to meet with Minister Noonan on the Draft Stability Programme Update 2017

12 April 2017

The Committee on Budgetary Oversight will tomorrow meet with the Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan TD, to discuss the Draft Stability Programme Update 2017, incorporating the Department of Finance’s Spring Forecasts.

The meeting will commence at 2.00pm in Committee Room 1 tomorrow, Thursday, 13 April 2017.

Committee Chairman, John Paul Phelan TD, said “The Stability Programme Update gives an overview of Ireland’s current economic and fiscal position and lays out the country’s medium term fiscal plan, taking account of Budget 2017. The Committee will have the opportunity to discuss with the Minister a wide range of issues in relation to Ireland’s economic performance such as the 2016 macroeconomic outturn, the 2017 macroeconomic projections, the balance of payments, how economic growth is being managed effectively and the need for a greater infrastructure investment by the State in order to address emerging bottlenecks in areas such as housing, transport, water services, health and education.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Liam O'Brien,
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353 86 189 5098

Committee Membership:

Chairman: John Paul Phelan (Fine Gael)


Seán Barrett (Fine Gael)
Richard Boyd-Barrett     (AAA / PBP)
Thomas P. Broughan (Independents4Change)
Colm Brophy (Fine Gael)
Joan Burton (Labour)
Dara Calleary (Fianna Fáil)
Lisa Chambers (Fianna Fáil)
David Cullinane (Sinn Féin)
Pearse Doherty (Sinn Féin)
Stephen Donnelly (Social Democrats / Green Party Group)
Marc Mac Sharry (Fianna Fáil)
Michael McGrath (Fianna Fáil)
Kate O'Connell (Fine Gael)
Eamon Ryan (Social Democrats / Green Party Group)