Housing Committee to continue its review of building regulations, building control & consumer protection

The Joint Committee on Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government will meet tomorrow to resume its review of building regulations, building control and consumer protection:

12 April 2017

Session A: Ms. Orla Hegarty, UCD; Representatives from the Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland, Irish Planning Institute;

Session B: Department of Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government Officials.

Speaking ahead of the meeting, Committee Chairperson, Maria Bailey TD, said, “The Government in its ‘Rebuilding Ireland Strategy’ have set the goal of delivering over 25,000 units per annum on average over the period of the plan. However, with the increase in construction work, great care needs to be taken to ensure that the problems experienced in the past are not repeated. In conjunction with the Department’s work on Building Regulations, our Committee has taken the decision to hold hearings on this matter and on conclusion of those hearings; Deputy O’Broin will act as rapporteur and prepare a report for consideration by the Committee.”

The meeting will take place in Committee Room 1, Leinster House at 9.30am tomorrow, Thursday, 13 April 2017.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here:

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Press Liaison Officer,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M: +353 86 4100 898
Email: Nuala.Walsh@Oireachtas.ie
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Chairperson: Maria Bailey (Fine Gael)


Pat Casey (Fianna Fáil)
Ruth Coppinger (AAA-PBP)
Barry Cowen Fianna Fáil)
Mattie McGrath (Rural Independent Group)
Eoin O Broin (Sinn Féin)
Fergus O’Dowd (Fine Gael)


Victor Boyhan (Independent)
Paudie Coffey (Fine Gael)
Jennifer Murnane O'Connor (Fianna Fáil)
Grace O'Sullivan (Green Party)