Communications, Climate Action & Environment Committee to discuss decarbonising transport

Decarbonising Transport and the key role of alternative fuels and technologies, including Electric Vehicles will be the focus of the Communications, Climate Action and Environment Committee tomorrow, Tuesday, 20 June 2017.

Officials from the Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment and from the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport; representatives from the SEAI (Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland), CER (Commission for Energy Regulation), ESB (Electricity Supply Board), SIMI (Society of the Irish Motor Industry), Gas Networks Ireland and EV Owners Ireland will attend the meeting.

Committee Chairman Hildegarde Naughton TD said: “Decarbonising transport is a key element in Ireland’s overall strategy to transition to a low carbon and environmentally sustainable economy over the coming decades. As transport is a key contributor of Ireland’s total emissions, it is important that we examine how we can decarbonise the sector and reduce emissions. We realise that there are many challenges involved in moving towards a low-carbon transport sector but that change is possible, particularly given the big advances in alternatives fuel and electric vehicle technology. Prioritising accessible, cheap, efficient and environmentally friendly public transport; embracing new and innovative technologies; providing cycle and walking infrastructure; and encouraging smart transport and urban planning are among some of the issues we will be discussing.”

In the second part of tomorrow’s meeting, the Committee will carry out oversight of the Commission for Energy Regulation when it meets with Commissioner Paul McGowan (Chairman), Commissioner Garrett Blaney and Commissioner Aoife McEvilly.

Deputy Naughton said: “The CER is Ireland’s independent energy regulator with a range of economic, customer and safety functions. The CER is also the economic regulator of Ireland’s public water system. The Commissioners will have an opportunity to outline the priorities and challenges for the Commission for the immediate period ahead and into the future.”

This meeting will take place at 5pm on Tuesday, 20 June 2017 in Committee Room 2, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2,
D02 XR20,

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:


Hildegarde Naughton (Chair)    Fine Gael
Timmy Dooley            Fianna Fáil
James Lawless (Vice Chair)    Fianna Fáil
Michael Lowry            Rural Independent Group
Eamon Ryan            Social Democrats - Green Party Group
Bríd Smith            Solidarity-PBP
Brian Stanley            Sinn Féin


Terry Leyden            Fianna Fáil
Tim Lombard            Fine Gael
Michael McDowell        Independent Group
Joe O’Reilly            Fine Gael