PAC to resume hearings on Third Level Education Financial Statements

The Public Accounts Committee will continue its hearings on the financial statements of third level bodies tomorrow, Thursday, 22 June 2017 when it meets with representatives from the University of Limerick, University College Cork, Dublin Institute of Technology and Cork Institute of Technology.

The agenda for the meeting is:

(i) Business of the Committee;
(ii) Matters relating to the Financial Accounts of the Third Level Sector [Officials from University of Limerick, University College Cork, Dublin Institute of Technology and Cork Institute of Technology]

Committee Chairman Seán Fleming said: “The Committee previously met with officials from the University of Limerick, University College Cork and Dublin Institute of Technology earlier this year and has requested them to return to provide further clarifications and information in relation to a number of issues arising from those meetings.

An area of interest for the Committee in relation to DIT is the services provided through the Library Subscription Service, SWETS UK. This company had been procured through a national public tender in 2012 but went into bankruptcy in 2014 and we will be seeking further information on this.

“In relation to the University of Limerick, we will be looking for an update on the Independent Review of governance matters at the University being conducted by the Department of Education and Skills and hearing from Dr Richard Thorn who is leading the review.

“We will be seeking further details on University College Cork’s purchase of, and relationship with, the Irish Management Institute.

Separately, we will be meeting with Cork Institute of Technology for the first time to discuss its financial accounts for 2014 and 2015.”

This meeting will start in Committee room 3 at 9am on Thursday, 22 June 2017.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Bobby Aylward        Fianna Fáil
Peter Burke        Fine Gael
Shane Cassells        Fianna Fáil
Catherine Connolly    Independent
David Cullinane        Sinn Féin
Alan Farrell        Fine Gael
Séan Fleming        Fianna Fáil
Alan Kelly        Labour
Marc MacSharry        Fianna Fáil
Josepha Madigan    Fine Gael
Mary Lou McDonald    Sinn Féin
Noel Rock        Fine Gael
Catherine Murphy    Social Democrats-Green Party Group