Minister to brief Children and Youth Affairs Committee on foster care issues

The Joint Committee on Children and Youth Affairs will meet tomorrow, Wednesday, 12 July at 9am in Committee Room 1, Leinster House.

The agenda for the meeting is as follows:

• Formal decision in relation to scrutiny of EU legislative proposals: Schedule A: COM(2017) 262 (Legal framework for the European Solidarity Corp);

• (ii) Update on the Affordable Childcare Scheme; and

• (iii) Issues arising in foster care services in Ireland (resumed)
• [Minister for Children and Youth Affairs]

Speaking ahead of the meeting, Committee Chair, Alan Farrell, said, “Tomorrow’s meeting marks my first as Chairman of the Committee and I am pleased that Minister Zappone will be with us as we deal with two very important issues: the Affordable Childcare Scheme and issues relating to foster care services in Ireland. Minister Zappone will provide us with an update on the Affordable Childcare Scheme, which is due to come on stream in September.”

“Later in the meeting, we will turn to the issue of foster care. Foster care is complex and can involve many stakeholders. The Minister for Children and Youth Affairs will engage with us on foster care and how we can work towards ensuring that the State does not fail in its duty to protect our most vulnerable children. Members will wish to discuss the challenges around foster care and how they are to be addressed, while keeping children and their wellbeing at the centre of the process.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here:

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Press Liaison Officer,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M: +353 86 4100 898
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Chairperson: Alan Farrell (Fine Gael)


Lisa Chambers (Fianna Fáil);
Kathleen Funchion (Sinn Fein);
Tom Neville (Fine Gael);
Donnchadh O'Laoghaire (Sinn Féin);
Jan O’Sullivan (Labour);
Ann Rabbitte (Fianna Fáil)


Lorraine Clifford-Lee (Fianna Fáil)
Máire Devine (Sinn Fein)
Joan Freeman (Taoiseach Nominee)
Catherine Noone (Fine Gael)