EU Affairs Committee seeks submissions from the public on future of Europe

The Joint Committee on European Union Affairs has today issued a call for submissions on the future of Europe. The White Paper, presented by the European Commission on 01 March 2017, presents five possible directions for the EU’s future, accompanied by a description of what the EU could be like in 2025. The White Paper was followed by a series of reflection papers, all of which are intended to open the discussion on what Europe could be.

The Committee now wants to hear the views of as many Irish citizens as possible, including but not limited to, what form they would like the future of Europe to take; what they feel is working; what isn’t working. The White Paper represents a valuable opportunity for Europeans to contribute towards charting the way forward as the EU navigates uncertain times.

Committee Chairman, Michael Healy Rae said, “Our Committee is pleased to announce a call for submissions on the future of Europe. Following the decision of one Member State to leave, the future of the EU continues to cause great concern and it is vital that citizens’ voices are heard before any final decision is made. With this in mind, our Committee has decided to invite submissions on this subject, including the White Paper, with the intention to represent them in the Future of Europe debates in Ireland and in Europe.“

“Using the submissions, we will ensure that Ireland is at the forefront of these discussions. All views submitted to us will be considered in a Report of the Committee, which we hope to publish before the end of the year. I would encourage everyone to think hard about the kind of Europe they want and to send us their submission before the 20th October.”

The closing date for receipt of submissions is Friday 20 October 2017 at 3pm.

Written submissions should be sent by email (MS Word or equivalent) to the following email address only:

More details can be found here:

Media enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Press Officer,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M: +353 86 4100 898
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Joint Committee Membership:

Chairman: Michael Healy-Rae TD (Independent)


Colm Brophy (Fine Gael)
Seán Crowe (Sinn Féin)
Bernard Durkan (Fine Gael)
Sean Haughey (Fianna Fáil)
Mattie McGrath (Rural Independent Group)
Frank O'Rourke (Fianna Fáil)


Paul Coghlan (Fine Gael)
Gerard P. Craughwell (Independent Group)
Terry Leyden (Fianna Fáil)
Neale Richmond (Fine Gael)