Committee on the Eighth Amendment of the Constitution to consider human rights issues

Human rights issues arising from the Citizens' Assembly recommendations will be on the agenda of the Oireachtas Committee on the Eight Amendment when it meets tomorrow, Wednesday, 4 October 2017.

Appearing before the Committee are:

Session A - 1.45 p.m. [Ms. Emily Logan, Chief Commissioner, Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission, Professor Siobhan Mullally, Member, Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission]
Session B - 3.00 p.m. [Ms. Christina Zampas, Fellow of the International Reproductive and Sexual Health Law Programme, University of Toronto, Professor William Binchy, Adjunct Professor of Law, TCD, and Barrister at Law]

Senator Catherine Noone, Chair of the Committee said: “Tomorrow the Committee will resume its hearings on the recommendations contained in the report from the Citizen’s assembly. We will be looking at options for Constitutional change and in that regard we want to see the extent to which Constitutional change derives from International Human Rights obligations. The Committee will hear from a the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission which will outline the main findings of the UN and the EU as they relate to Ireland and we will follow that up with a detailed discussion with two experts in the area of international Human rights”

The Committee will meet at 1.30pm, tomorrow, Wednesday, 4 October 2017 in Committee Room 3, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.
Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership


Anne Rabbitte Fianna Fáil
Bernard J. Durkan Fine Gael
Billy Kelleher Fianna Fáil
Catherine Murphy Social Democrats
Clare Daly Independents 4 Change
Hildegarde Naughton Fine Gael
James Browne Fianna Fáil
Jan O'Sullivan Labour
Jonathan O'Brien Sinn Féin
Kate O'Connell Fine Gael
Lisa Chambers Fianna Fáil
Louise O'Reilly Sinn Féin
Mattie McGrath Independent
Peter Fitzpatrick Fine Gael
Ruth Coppinger Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit


Catherine Noone (Chair) Fine Gael
Jerry Buttimer Fine Gael
Lynn Ruane Independent
Ned O'Sullivan Fianna Fáil
Paul Gavan Sinn Féin
Rónán Mullen Independent