Housing Committee to begin PLS on Building Control (Construction Industry Register Ireland) Bill 2017

The Committee on Housing, Planning and Local Government will meet tomorrow to commence Pre-Legislative Scrutiny (PLS) on the Draft General Scheme of the Building Control (Construction Industry Register Ireland) Bill 2017.

03 October 2017

The meeting will take place in Committee Room 1 at 9.30am.

Representatives from Engineers Ireland; The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland and The Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland will brief the Committee.

The Building Control Bill will place the Construction Industry Register Ireland (CIRI) on a statutory footing and thereby provide in law for the registration of building contractors and specialist sub-contractors.

Committee Chairperson, Maria Bailey TD said, “The Committee is pleased to begin the PLS process on this important piece of draft legislation. Placing the register on a statutory footing will afford greater protection to people who may run into problems with their builders. It also means that all builders and sub-contractors will have to be vetted by CIRI/ Construction Industry Federation (CIF). Confidence in the construction industry needs to be restored and this bill goes some way towards contributing towards that process.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Committee Press Officer,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M: +353 86 4100 898
Email: Nuala.Walsh@Oireachtas.ie
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Chairperson: Maria Bailey (Fine Gael)


Pat Casey (Fianna Fáil)
Ruth Coppinger (AAA-PBP)
Barry Cowen Fianna Fáil)
Mattie McGrath (Rural Independent Group)
Eoin O Broin (Sinn Féin)
Fergus O’Dowd (Fine Gael)


Victor Boyhan (Independent)
Paudie Coffey (Fine Gael)
Jennifer Murnane O'Connor (Fianna Fáil)
Grace O'Sullivan (Green Party)