Irish Language Committee is seeking submissions on the Draft Heads of the Official Languages Bill

The Joint Committee on the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands is seeking submissions on the Draft Heads of the Official Languages Bill.

The Committee is currently carrying out pre-legislative scrutiny of the General Scheme and Draft Heads of the Official Languages Bill. As part of this process, the Committee is seeking submissions from the public concerning the provisions of the Bill.

Committee Chair Catherine Connolly TD: “In June, the Government published the Draft Heads of Bill to amend the Official Languages Act 2003. The Committee has an opportunity to consider the Draft Heads and provide its input into drafting a strong and effective language bill to promote and protect the Irish language and benefit Gaeltacht communities. We want to hear people’s views on the Bill and we would strongly encourage submissions from interested people and organisations.”

Submissions should be concise, precise and directed at the provisions of the Bill.

The Joint Committee will accept any submission that is received up to 16 December 2017.

Further details on making a submission can be accessed here.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Catherine Connolly (Chair) Independent
Pat the Cope Gallagher    Fianna Fáil
Brendan Griffin    Fine Gael
Andrias Moynihan    Fianna Fáil
Fergus O’Dowd    Fine Gael
Bríd Smith     People Before Profit
Peadar Tóibín    Sinn Féin


Rónán Mullen    Independent
Trevor Ó Clochartaigh    Sinn Féin
Brian Ó Domhnaill    Fianna Fáil
Joe O’Reilly    Fine Gael