Irish Language Committee to discuss development plans for Údarás na Gaeltachta

The Joint Committee on the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands will discuss the effectiveness of the economic, cultural and social policies of Údarás na Gaeltachta at its meeting tomorrow, Tuesday 5 December 2017.

Committee Chair Catherine Connolly: “Tomorrow the Oireachtas Joint Committee on the Gaeltacht, the Irish Language and the Islands will discuss the development plans for the Gaeltacht with Údarás na Gaeltachta.  The Joint Committee is eager to discuss the effectiveness of the economic, cultural and social policies An tÚdarás is implementing, and intends to implement and support, in helping to sustain and develop viable communities in the Gaeltacht whose first language of communication is Irish.

We will also discuss how An tÚdarás will tackle the issue of providing a sufficient number, and a wide enough variety, of jobs in the Gaeltacht so that young people starting off on their career will have a realistic opportunity to work in their home communities and will not be obliged by economic necessity to migrate to the towns and cities outside the Gaeltacht.  The Joint Committee is also interested in considering what provisions are being made to provide employment in the Gaeltacht that will attract people home who have migrated from there and who wish to return and work there.  

The role of An tÚdarás in the Social Employment Schemes and the support it receives from the Department of Employment Protection and Social Protection in administering these will also be on our agenda. In addition, the Committee will discuss the role An tÚdarás plays in supporting and developing the social and cultural life of the Gaeltacht communities and in particular the support it gives to developing the Irish language, not just as the language of the home, but in particular, as the language of the community.”

This meeting will take place at 5pm, tomorrow, Tuesday, 5 December 2017 in Committee Room 4, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.
Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Catherine Connolly (Chair) Independent
Pat the Cope Gallagher    Fianna Fáil
Brendan Griffin    Fine Gael
Andrias Moynihan    Fianna Fáil
Fergus O’Dowd    Fine Gael
Bríd Smith     People Before Profit
Peadar Tóibín    Sinn Féin


Rónán Mullen    Independent
Trevor Ó Clochartaigh    Sinn Féin
Brian Ó Domhnaill    Fianna Fáil
Joe O’Reilly    Fine Gael