Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

Justice Committee continues hearings on submissions on prostitution legislation

The Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality will continue its hearings on submissions received in relation to the review of legislation on prostitution in Ireland when it meets with representatives from the Gay Men’s Health Service and Doras Luimní, along with Dr Derek Freedman and Linda Latham tomorrow, Wednesday, 23 rd January 2013.

Committee Chairman David Stanton, TD, said : “Tomorrow, we will continue our hearings when a number of those who provided submissions in relation to the review we are carrying out on prostitution legislation will appear before the Committee. Among those attending our meeting tomorrow are: Michael Quinlan, Manager, and Daniel McCartney, Researcher at the Gay Men’s Health Service; Patricia Stapleton, Anti-Trafficking Officer a nd Okeremute Okeregha, Legal Officer with Doras Luimní, an organisation that works to promote and protect the rights of migrants and which has been involved in the Turn Off the Red Light campaign; as well as Dr Derek Freedman and Linda Latham. We are looking forward to getting their perspectives on Ireland’s prostitution laws and it will be an opportunity for members of the committee to discuss and consider what changes they would like to see implemented in our laws in this area. As legislators with the responsibility for reviewing Ireland’s prostitution laws, it is important that we engage with people and organisations working with those involved in prostitution to get their views on current legislation and discuss what legislative changes they would like to see.”

This meeting will start in Committee Room 2, Leinster House at 2pm on Wednesday 23 rd January.

Committee proceedings can be followed live here.

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Niall Collins, Michael Creed, Alan Farrell, Anne Ferris [Vice-Chairman], Se án Kenny, Finian McGrath, Jonathan O’Brien, John Paul Phelan and David Stanton (Chairman).


Ivana Bacik, Paul Bradford, Martin Conway, Rónán Mullen, Denis O’Donovan and Katherine Zappone.