Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

Foreign Affairs Committee to discuss Ireland’s Presidency with Tánaiste

The Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade will discuss the programme and priorities in the foreign affairs arena for Ireland’s EU Presidency with Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs Eamon Gilmore TD at its meeting tomorrow, Wednesday, 23 rd January 2013.

Committee Chairman, Pat Breen TD said: “Ireland has assumed the Presidency at a very important time for the European Union. With a key focus on stimulating growth and creating jobs, we will be particularly interested in discussing the Presidency’s priorities in the area of international trade and investment with the Tánaiste.

We will also have an opportunity to consider the programme, priorities and overall approach the Government is planning to take for Ireland’s EU Presidency in a number of other foreign affairs areas such as development and humanitarian policy, common defence and security policy and the European Neighbourhood Policy which aims to promote democratic reforms and economic development in neighbouring countries.

While organising and holding the six-month position can be demanding for Member States, Ireland has a strong track record in hosting the rotating EU Presidency and we recognise that it is an important opportunity for the country to contribute to the EU agenda, set a work programme and facilitate dialogue in the Union’s foreign policy.”

This meeting will start in Committee Room 1, Leinster House at 5pm on Wednesday, 23 rd January.

Committee proceedings can be followed live here.

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Seán Crowe, TD
Pat Breen, TD (Chairman)
Eric Byrne, TD
Olivia Mitchell, TD
Bernard J Durkan, TD
Pádraig Mac Lochlainn, TD
Gerald Nash, TD
Dan Neville, TD
Maureen O’Sullivan, TD
Brendan Smith, TD


Deirdre Clune,
Mark Daly,
Lorraine Higgins,
Michael Mullins,
David Norris,
Jim Walsh.