Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

EU Affairs Committee continues debate on Europe's future with Dublin MEPs

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on European Union Affairs yesterday afternoon continued its national debate on the future of the European Union with Dublin MEPs Gay Mitchell, Emer Costello and Paul Murphy.

8 March 2013  

The discussions touched on the disconnect between citizens and the European institutions, common foreign and defence policy and the implications for Ireland should Britain leave the EU.

Chairman of the Committee Dominic Hannigan TD said: “We thank the Dublin MEPs for a series of candid, robust and impassioned exchanges on the future of the European Union. While each MEP presented a distinct political perspective, a common thread running through the contributions was the importance of what happens on a European level to Ireland's future. Another common view expressed was around the need to bolster the notion of a Social Europe and we heard calls for enhanced moves towards a social compact.

“We also discussed how we are to better connect the work of the European Parliament with the wider public and we as a Committee are seeking via this national debate to explore how the gap between the European institutions and the citizen can be closed. Our call for submissions remains open until 29 March and we encourage interested citizens and groups from across the country to have their say on the future of the European Union and Ireland's role in that Union."

Follow this Committee on Facebook.

Call for Submissions: The Oireachtas Joint Committee on European Union Affairs is leading a national debate on Ireland and the future of the European Union. As part of this process, the Committee is inviting submissions from individual members of the public and organisations on the future of the European Union and Ireland’s role in that Union. The closing date for receipt of submissions is 29 March 2013. Read more and make a submission

For further information please contact:  
Paul Hand,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 4484
M: +353  87 694 9926

Committee Membership
Dominic Hannigan, TD (Chairman)
Paschal Donohoe, TD (Vice-Chairman)
Seán Crowe, TD
Timmy Dooley, TD
Bernard J Durkan, TD
John Halligan, TD
Seán Kyne, TD
Joe O’Reilly, TD

Colm Burke,
Fidelma Healy Eames,
James Heffernan,
Terry Leyden,
Kathryn Reilly