Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

HEA to brief Education Committee on issues confronting higher level education

The Oireachtas Committee on Education and Social Protection Committee will meet with the Higher Education Authority (HEA) tomorrow, Wednesday, February 4th. The meeting will focus on strategic issues facing the higher level education sector and will be the first of two meetings on the topic.

3rd February 2015

During tomorrow’s meeting, the Committee will hear presentations on the ‘National Strategy for Higher Education to 2030’ as well as on the ‘Higher Education System Performance Framework 2014-2016.’

Committee Chair, Joanna Tuffy said: “Tomorrow’s meeting is an opportunity for the Committee to develop its dialogue with the HEA on the critical issues facing the higher level education sector.”

“The National Strategy for Higher Education to 2030 (adopted in 2011) sets out a comprehensive plan for higher education in Ireland. The strategy aims to provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed to go on to rewarding employment, and as such, it is absolutely vital that the Committee is given the chance to discuss developments in the strategy to date.”

The Committee will also examine the ‘Higher Education System Performance Framework 2014-2016.’ This framework aims to provide for how performance is to be measured and a proportion of funding granted to institutions will, in future years, be contingent on performance.  

The meeting will start in Committee Room 3, Leinster House, tomorrow, Wednesday, 4th of February 2015 at 1pm. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 3437 / M: +353 86 4100 898

Committee Membership:

Chair: Joanna Tuffy (Labour)


James Bannon (Fine Gael); Ray Butler (Fine Gael); Catherine Byrne (Fine Gael); Ciaran Cannon Fine Gael; Joan Collins (People Before Profit); Michael Conaghan (Labour); Clare Daly (Independent); Jim Daly (Fine Gael); Derek Keating (Fine Gael); Charlie McConalogue (Fianna Fáil); Jonathan O Brien (Sinn Fein); Willie O'Dea (Fianna Fáil); Aengus Ó Snodaigh (Sinn Féin); Brendan Ryan (Labour); Joanna Tuffy (Labour)


Jim D’Arcy (Fine Gael); Gerard P Craughwell (Independent); Marie Moloney (Labour); Mary Moran (Labour); Averil Power (Fianna Fáil); Mary-Louise O'Donnell (Independent)