Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

Irish Advocacy Network to address Health Committee

Chief Executive of the Irish Advocacy Network, Colette Nolan, will address the Joint Committee on Health and Children tomorrow on the role and functions of the organisation.

The Irish Advocacy Network is a peer-led, island-wide organisation which promotes equal citizenship to people with mental health difficulties through advocacy, information and support in partnership with other organisations.

Committee Chairman, Jerry Buttimer TD said: “Positive mental health is important to all of us, yet too often in the past there have been many misunderstandings, pre-conceptions and stigmas surrounding the issue of mental health. It is important that we deal with mental health in an open, mature and understanding way and acknowledge that mental health issues can manifest themselves in many forms and can affect anyone at any stage of their lives. A goal of the Irish Advocacy Network is to ensure that people who have experienced mental health issues are given the confidence, information and advice needed to speak out for themselves and to influence their own care and path to recovery. Tomorrow, we will have an opportunity to hear from the Network on its work and functions and its vision and priorities for the future.”

The meeting takes place tomorrow, Thursday, 2nd February, at 11.30am in Committee Room 2, LH 2000. Committee proceedings can be followed live at: http://bit.ly/24YmPI

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership:


Jerry Buttimer, Fine Gael
Catherine Byrne, Fine Gael
Michael Colreavy, Sinn Fein
Ciara Conway, Labour Party
Regina Doherty, Fine Gael
Robert Dowds, Labour Party
Peter Fitzpatrick, Fine Gael
Seamus Healy, Independent
Derek Keating, Fine Gael
Billy Kelleher, Fine Fail
Eamonn Maloney, Labour Party
Charlie McConalogue, Fianna Fail
Mattie McGrath, Independent
Denis Naughten, Independent
Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, Sinn Fein


Colm Burke, Fine Gael
John Crown, Independent
David Cullinane, Sine Fein
John Gilroy, Labour Party
Imelda Henry, Fine Gael
Marc Mac Sharry, Fine Fail
Jillian Van Turnhout, Independent