Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

EU Affairs Committee welcome referendum date announcement

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on European Union Affairs has today welcomed the clarity provided by announcement by Government of the date of the upcoming referendum on the new EU Treaty.

It is envisaged that the newly established Sub-Committee on the Referendum on the Intergovernmental Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union will begin an intensive period of debate in early April. It will also consider submissions on the Treaty from members of the public and interested organisations (details below).

Committee Chairman Dominic Hannigan TD says: “Our Committee welcomes the clarity provided by the today's announcement that the referendum on the EU Stability Treaty will take place on Thursday, 31 May.

“Our newly established cross-party Sub-Committee is facing into an intensive period of debate, in which we will hear from a range of political leaders and key voices from civil society. Conscious that the Irish vote will have implications Europe-wide, Ambassadors of Member States, MEPs and European Union experts will be invited to make contributions. 

“By inviting both supporters and opponents from a range of backgrounds on the Treaty, we will lead an informed and balanced national debate in the run up to referendum day.”

Call for Submissions: The Joint Committee on European Affairs will also consider submissions from those who wish to make known their views on the Treaty and its implications for Ireland. The closing date for receipt of submissions is this Friday 30 March. View more details and make a submission: http://bit.ly/xMg2nJ


For further information please contact: 

Paul Hand,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 4944
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Dominic Hannigan, TD (Chairman)
Paschal Donohoe, TD (Vice-Chairman)
Timmy Dooley, TD
Bernard J Durkan, TD
Colm Keaveney, TD
Seán Kyne, TD
Pádraig Mac Lochlainn, TD
Joe O’Reilly, TD
Mick Wallace, TD
Colm Burke,
Fidelma Healy Eames,
James Heffernan,
Terry Leyden,
Kathryn Reilly