Home > Media Zone > Press Releases

Environment Committee to discuss Building Control Act 2007 with architects’ groups

John Graby, Director, Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland; and Mr Michael Cummins, Honorary Secretary, Architects Alliance of Ireland will attend the meeting of the Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht tomorrow, Tuesday 3rd July to discuss the Building Control Act 2007 and the registration of the title Architect.

Committee chair Ciaran Lynch, TD said: “Architects have raised concerns about the proposed amendments to the building regulations, which if implemented, they say will leave architects responsible for ensuring a building is free from defects and in compliance with the regulations. They argue that this places an unfair burden on architects and their professional indemnity insurance cover.

Architects also want the inclusion of a grandfather clause in any legislation adopted for long-standing architects so they will not have to complete a technical assessment in order to be accepted by the Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland.

Our meeting tomorrow will provide any opportunity for the Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland and the Architects Alliance of Ireland to outline their concerns with proposed legislative changes and will provide us with an opportunity to tease out the various issues.”

This meeting will take place on Tuesday, 3rd July, in Committee Room 4, Leinster House 2000 at 2.15pm.

Committee proceedings can be followed live at:

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership

Joint Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht

Deputies: James Bannon TD (Fine Gael); Paudie Coffey TD (Fine Gael); Niall Collins TD (Fianna Fáil); Noel Coonan (Fine Gael) Leas-Chathaoirleach; Marcella Corcoran Kennedy TD (Fine Gael); Luke Flanagan TD (Independent); Kevin Humphreys TD (Labour); Ciarán Lynch TD (Labour) Cathaoirleach; Sandra Mc Lellan TD (Sinn Féin); Tony Mc Loughlin TD (Fine Gael); Michelle Mulherin TD (Fine Gael); Catherine Murphy TD (Independent); Gerald Nash TD (Labour); Brian Stanley TD (Sinn Féin); Robert Troy TD (Fianna Fáil).

Senators: Senator Cáit Keane (Fine Gael) Senator Denis Landy (Labour); An Seanadóir Fiach Mac Conghail (Neamhspleách); Senator Catherine Noone (Fine Gael); An Seanadóir Labhrás Ó Murchú (Fianna Fáil): Senator Ned O’Sullivan (Fianna Fáil).