Committee on the Implementation of the Good Friday Agreement

Committee contact details

Committee on Implementation of Good Friday Agreement
Leinster House
Kildare Street
Dublin 2

Staff contact details

Clerk to the Committee: Tara Kelly
Telephone: (01) 618 3848
                   076 100 1753*

Press Officer: Nuala Walsh
Telephone: 01 618 3437

*Note - The new 0761 prefix is part of a Government initiative to reduce call costs for both public bodies and customers. Currently calls to 0761 numbers are being charged at national call rates from landlines and mobiles, but this is under review.



Agriculture Committee to discuss CAP reform with EU Commissioner

18 January 2012

The Joint Committee on Communications, Natural Resources and Agriculture will meet with the EU Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development Dacian Cioloş tomorrow Thursday 19 January.

The Commissioner is in Dublin for a series of meetings on reform of the Common Agricultural Policy, which will come into effect from 2014 to 2020.  Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney TD will also attend the high-profile meeting.

Chairman of the Oireachtas Joint Committee Andrew Doyle TD said: “CAP reform negotiations have entered a crucial period and Thursday’s meeting serves as a timely opportunity for Committee Members to engage with the Commissioner on safeguarding current levels of funding to Irish agriculture.

“The Romanian Commissioner has a strong track record as an academic and a practitioner in the area of agricultural economics and has been commended for listening to all views in his brief in Brussels.

“The Committee looks forward to engaging constructively with Commissioner Cioloş on how best to protect the interests of Irish farming and ensuring the sustainable development of agriculture across Europe.”

This meeting takes place on Thursday 19 January in Committee Room 3, LH 2000, at 9:30 am.

For further information and to arrange accreditation please contact:
Paul Hand,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 4484
M: +353 87 6949926
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership

Tom Barry, Fine Gael
Michael Colreavy, Sinn Fein
Pat Deering, Fine Gael
Andrew Doyle, Fine Gael
Martin Ferris, Sinn Fein
Noel Harrington, Fine Gael
Martin Heydon, Fine Gael
Colm Keaveney, Labour Party
Mattie McGrath, Independent
Michael McNamara, Labour Party
Michael Moynihan, Fianna Fail
Éamon Ó Cuív, Fianna Fail
John O’Mahony, Fine Gael
Ann Phelan, Labour Party
Thomas Pringle, Independent
Michael Comiskey
Paschal Mooney
Pat O’Neill
Mary Ann O’Brien
Brian Ó Domhnaill
John Whelan