Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality invites submissions on the General Scheme of the Bail Bill.

The Joint Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality has decided to invite written submissions from interested groups or individuals in relation to the General Scheme of the Bail Bill.

Written submissions should be sent electronically by email (MS Word or equivalent) and should be received not later than 3pm on Friday 28th August 2015 at the following email address only:

It is essential that submissions are concise and to the point. Submissions should be structured on a Head by Head basis and should not contain any unnecessary or superfluous material that does not relate directly to the subject. If reference is made to other publications, a link to this publication is sufficient and it is not necessary to send these as separate attachments. Pages in submissions should be numbered.

The General Scheme can be accessed by clicking here.

Submissions and communications should only be sent to the email address above and not to individuals or members of the Committee. Please note that the Clerk will ensure that all members of the Committee receive, in due course, copies of all submissions and communications received.  To avoid confusion and duplication, please do not forward hard copies of submissions made electronically.

Format of a submission:

Your submission should be in one document [with no personal details except your name] and it should be accompanied by a separate covering letter which should outline in brief why you are making a submission. The covering letter should include your name, your postal address, email address and contact telephone number [to allow contact to be made with you]. Submitting in this format will allow for your submission to be published and not the letter containing your contact details.  Also, if the submission is on behalf of an organisation, you should indicate your position in the organisation. You should also indicate in your letter if you would be prepared to appear in public session at any Committee meeting.

The main document should contain the following information:

(i)    A brief introduction, for example, explaining your area of expertise;
(ii)    Any factual information that you have to offer from which the Committee might be able to draw conclusions, or which could be put to other parties for their reactions;
(iii)    Any recommendations to the Committee which should be as specific as possible and should be summarised at the end of the document;
(iv)    an executive summary of the main points made in the submission, if your document is more than 10 pages long.
The Committee will consider any suitable written submissions received and may decide to invite a number of contributors to public hearings should it be considered necessary.


(i)    Submissions sent to any other e-mail address may not be accepted.
(ii)    Anonymous submissions cannot be accepted and will be rejected.
(iii)    Petitions and Form letters may not be accepted or published.
(iv)    Submissions made to a Committee may be published as received either as part of a Committee report, or separately, if the Committee decides to do so.

As already indicated, submissions should, where possible, be made by electronic means and it is not necessary to also forward a hard copy of your submission.

Making a submission is a public process. The Committee is not obliged to accept your document once it has been submitted, nor is it obliged to publish any or all of the submissions if it has been accepted. However, the operations of a parliament are a public process, and you should be aware that any submissions made to a Committee may be published either as part of a Committee report, or separately, if the Committee decides to do so.

A more detailed document outlining the guidelines for making a written submission is available from the Clerk to the Committee by clicking Making Submissions and accessing document number 5.

Members of the Joint Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality


David Stanton (Chairman)
Anne Ferris (Vice-Chairman)
Niall Collins
Alan Farrell
Seán Kenny
Pádraig MacLochlainn
Gabrielle McFadden
Finian McGrath
Fergus O’Dowd


Ivana Bacik
Martin Conway
Tony Mulcahy
Rónán Mullen
Denis O’Donovan
Katherine Zappone.

Closing Date

The closing date for receipt of submissions is Friday 28th August 2015 at 3pm.

Should you have any queries in relation to this matter, please contact:

Alan Guidon
Clerk to the Committee
01 618 3899