Submissions Invited on Retention of Records Bill

The Joint Committee on Education and Social Protection is inviting written submissions from interested individuals or groups in relation to the General Scheme of a Retention of Records Bill 2015.

 The General Scheme of the Bill is available via the Department of Education and Skills website.

 The Committee will consider any submissions received, and may decide to invite one or more individuals or groups to a public hearing should it feel that this would be beneficial to its Pre-Legislative Scrutiny of the General Scheme.

Please note that all submissions and communications in relation to this matter are being handled by the Clerk and Secretariat to the Committee; submissions should not be sent to individual members of the Committee.

Submissions should be sent, preferably by electronic means, to the Clerk to the Committee at (in which case it is not necessary to also forward a hard copy of the submission).   Written submissions should be sent to Clerk, Joint Committee on Education and Social Protection, Houses of the Oireachtas, Kildare House, Kildare Street, Dublin 2.   Submissions should arrive not later than 5.00 p.m. on Monday 30 March 2015.

 Submissions sent to any other address may not be accepted.

The following guidelines apply in relation to submissions:

  • Submissions should be accompanied by a separate covering letter containing the name and contact details (phone number and postal address and, if available, an email address) of the individual of group making the submission.   If the submission is being made on behalf of a group, the position of the person in that group should be indicated.
  • Anonymous submissions cannot be accepted.
  • Submissions should –
    • be presented as concisely as possible on numbered pages
    • contain -

(i)           a brief introduction, for example, explaining your area of expertise

(ii)          any factual information that you have to offer from which the Committee might be able to draw conclusions, or which could be put to other parties for their reactions

  • deal with each Head of the General Scheme individually, and the rationale for any amendments being suggested should be clearly outlined
  • be as specific as possible in relation to any recommendations being made, which should be summarised at the end of the document
  • include an executive summary of the main points made in the submission if the submission is more than 10 pages in length
  • Submissions should indicate if the individual or group on whose behalf they are made would be prepared to appear in public session at any Committee meeting.

A more detailed document outlining the guidelines for making a written submission is available by clicking here.

Making a submission is a public process

The Committee is not obliged to accept your document once it has been submitted, nor is it obliged to publish any or all of the submission if it is accepted.  However, the operations of a Parliament are a public process, and any submissions made to a Committee may be published either as part of a Committee report, or separately, if the Committee decides to do so.

Members of the Committee

Deputy Joanna Tuffy (Chair), Jim Daly – Vice Chair.

Deputies James Bannon, Ray Butler, Catherine Byrne, Ciarán Cannon, Joan Collins, Michael Conaghan, Clare Daly, Deputy Noel Harrington, Charlie McConalogue, Jonathan O’Brien, Willie O’Dea, Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Brendan Ryan

Senators Jim D’Arcy, Gerard P Craughwell, Marie Moloney, Mary Moran, Marie-Louise O’Donnell, Averil Power

The deadline for receipt of submissions is 5.00 p.m. on Monday 30 March 2015.

Should you have any queries in relation to this matter, please contact the Clerk to the Committee at the address above, or telephone 01 618 3481.


Keep in Touch

Follow us on TwitterJoin us on Facebook Go to or Videos on You Tube Follow us on Flickr