Health (moving image)

Joint Committee on Health and Children

The timely provision of timely and high quality healthcare is a key priority for everyone. 

This Committee plays an important role in scrutinising the work of the Department of Health and its agencies, as well as examining current health policy, assessing the future planning of health services and scrutinising any proposed changes to the way healthcare is delivered in this country.

This Committee's remit also extends to scrutinising the work of the Department of Children and Youth Affairs and key stakeholders in promoting the interests of children and young people in Ireland.

The Committee examines issues of current interest within its remit and will usually produce a report setting out its findings and making recommendations to the Government.


Read the Committee's .

What's on this week

Week Commencing

The Joint Committee on Health and Children will be not be meeting until the formation of a new Committee after the General Election.

Note: Committee meetings are webcast and often televised live on the Oireachtas TV channel, which is available on UPC 207 and Sky 574. To view all broadcasting options click on the following link. Meetings are also broadcast on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App which is available free of charge from the App stores on iTunes and Android.

News from the Committee

28 January 16
Health Committee publishes Report on childcare

27 January 16
Health Committee to meet Chair Designate of Oberstown Detention Centre

21 January 16
Health Committee publishes Report on advocacy


View older press releases

Health Committee Presentation to Minister Reilly (24.11.15)Members of the Joint Committee on Health and Children presenting the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Dr. James Reilly T.D., with the Committee's Report on the Pre - Legislative Scrutiny on the General Scheme and Heads of the Adoption (Information and Tracing) Bill. From Left, Deputies Mary Mitchell O'Connor, Catherine Byrne, Joe Costello, Senator Colm Burke, Regina Doherty, Jerry Buttimer (Chairman), Minister Reilly, Sandra McLellan, Peter Fitzpatrick, Seamus Healy and Robert Troy.

Connect with us