Committee invites submissions on Social Media

The Joint Committee on Transport and Communications will hold hearings in relation to the abuse of social media and cyber-bullying on 6, 7 and 13 March 2013.  The hearings, which will be conducted in public session, will be webcast live.

The Committee is also inviting submissions, in writing and via social media channels, from interested groups or individuals in relation to the regulation of social media and cyber-bullying.

The Committee extends its thanks to those groups and individuals who have already made submissions.

Please note that recording of all submissions/communications will be undertaken by the Clerk to the Committee and the Secretariat and therefore submissions should not be sent to individual members of the Committee.

If you wish to make a written submission, please do so, by electronic means, to the Clerk to the Committee at: or by post to Clerk, Joint Committee on Transport and Communications, Kildare House, Kildare Street,  Dublin 2.

Digital submissions can also be made through the Oireachtas social media channels:

  • By sending a message through the Oireachtas Facebook channel;
  • By connecting with @OireachtasNews on Twitter, using the hashtag #jctcsubmission;
  • By creating a YouTube video and sending it to the Oireachtas via the email address below, or through the Oireachtas Twitter and Facebook accounts.

As a general guideline, written submissions should consist of a separate document accompanied by a covering letter. Submissions should be presented as concisely as possible. The covering letter should contain your name and contact details (phone number and postal address and, if available, an e-mail address).  If the submission is on behalf of an organisation, you should indicate your position in the organisation.  Submissions will also be accepted on the Oireachtas social media channels.

Making a submission is a public process
The Committee is not obliged to accept your document once it has been submitted, nor is it obliged to publish any or all of the submission if it has been accepted.  However, the operations of a parliament are a public process, and you should be aware that any submission made to a Committee may be published either as part of a Committee report, or separately, if the Committee decides to do so.

View Guidelines for making a submission.

The Members of the Joint Committee are:
Timmy Dooley,  Dessie Ellis,  Martin Ferris,  Terence Flanagan, Tom Fleming, Noel Harrington, Tom Hayes (Chairman),  Eamonn Maloney,  Seán Kenny,  Mattie McGrath, Michael Moynihan,  Patrick O’Donovan,  John O’Mahony,  Ann Phelan and Brian Walsh.

Terry Brennan, Sean D. Barrett, Eamonn Coghlan, Paschal Mooney,
Ned O’Sullivan and John Whelan.

The closing date for receipt of submissions is Friday, 15 March 2013

Should you have any queries in relation to this matter, please contact Mr. Pat Haran, Clerk to the Committee.
Tel.:      01 6183102


Keep in Touch

Follow us on TwitterJoin us on Facebook Go to or Videos on You Tube Follow us on Flickr