Role of the Leas-Chathaoirleach

Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach
Immediately after the election of the Cathaoirleach, the Seanad shall fix a date for the election of a Deputy Chairman who shall be designated and addressed as the Leas- Chathaoirleach; motions nominating candidates may be made after notice [S. O. 26].

Term of Leas-Chathaoirleach
The term of the Leas-Chathaoirleach shall be the term of the Seanad existing at the time of his election. The Seanad may, however, at any time, by resolution of which seven clear days’ notice of motion has been given, remove the Leas-Chathaoirleach from office.

Vacancy in office of Cathaoirleach
When a vacancy has occurred in the office of Cathaoirleach, the Clerk shall report the same to the Seanad at the opening of its next meeting. The Chair shall be taken by the Leas-Chathaoirleach, who shall act as Cathaoirleach until a Cathaoirleach is elected but shall not preside at such election. An order shall be made fixing a date for the election of a Cathaoirleach, which shall take place in the manner hereinbefore provided [S. O. 4].

Absence of Cathaoirleach
During the absence of the Cathaoirleach through illness or other cause, the Leas- Chathaoirleach shall perform the duties devolving upon and exercise the authority conferred upon the Cathaoirleach by these Standing Orders.

Duties and authority of Leas-Chathaoirleach
While the Leas-Chathaoirleach (or a temporary Chairman) is in the Chair he shall perform the duties devolved upon, and exercise the authority conferred upon the Cathaoirleach by these Standing Orders save as may be otherwise provided therein [S. O. 52 and 55].

Committee of Selection
There shall be appointed at the commencement of every Seanad a committee to be known as the Committee of Selection, which, unless it shall have been otherwise ordered, shall nominate the Senators to serve on Select or Special Committees and which shall have power to discharge members of such Committees from time to time for non-attendance or at their own request, and to appoint others in substitution for those discharged. The Committee of Selection shall consist of eleven Senators including the Leas-Chathaoirleach who shall be ex officio Chairman of the Committee. The quorum of the Committee shall be four.