Financial Services Ombudsman to appear before Petitions Committee

Mr. Ger Deering, Financial Services Ombudsman, will tomorrow address the Joint Committee on Public Petitions.

21 March 2017

The engagement arises from Public Petition No. P00035/16. The issues raised in this petition arose after the petitioner submitted a complaint to the Financial Services Ombudsman regarding his standard variable rate mortgage provider.

Speaking ahead of the meeting, Committee Chairman, Sean Sherlock TD, said “The long and well established role of an Ombudsman is to seek redress for citizens. The Office of the Financial Services Ombudsman plays an important role in dispute resolution as it engages in direct interaction with both consumers and providers in its efforts to resolve disputes between consumers and various financial institutions. Ger Deering, will brief us on the recent review into the operation of the offices of the Financial Services Ombudsman and the Pensions Ombudsman. This independent review has delivered significant change in how his office manages complaints. As a result of these changes, the FSO engages in more direct interaction with both consumers and providers to resolve disputes more efficiently. Our Committee will be keen to discuss the new processes put in place; how they have impacted the hundreds of tracker mortgage complaints his office has dealt with in recent years and the impact the changes will have going forward.”

The meeting will start at 1.30pm in Committee Room 1, Leinster House, tomorrow, Wednesday, 22 March 2017.

Watch proceedings live here.


Media Enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Press Liaison Officer,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2.
P: +353 1 618 3437
M: +353 86 4100 898
Email: /
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Seán Sherlock TD (Labour)


Shane Cassells (Fianna Fáil)
Martin Heydon (Fine Gael)
John Paul Phelan  (Fine Gael)
Denise Mitchell  (Sinn Féin)
Eugene Murphy  (Fianna Fáil)
Brendan Ryan (Labour)


Jerry Buttimer (Fine Gael)
Colette Kelleher (Independent)
Denis Landy (Labour)
Diarmuid Wilson (Fianna Fáil)