Home > Private Members (S) > Seanad Éireann Private Members Business...

Seanad Éireann Private Members Business
Wednesday 8 March 2017

That Seanad Éireann-

- recognises the economic importance of tourism to Ireland over many generations and the enormous contribution made by previous Governments in partnership with the tourism industry which has created a very strong experience for many millions of visitors to this country.

- recognises the significant achievement in increasing tourism numbers to Ireland given the very difficult economic circumstances in recent years.

- acknowledges the significant role the tourism industry has played in the past by maintaining and improving standards in very challenging financial environments.

-acknowledges the success of recent Government’s initiatives such as the introduction of the 9% VAT rate, the abolition of the travel tax,  the significant capital investment in high quality tourist attractions and the development and promotion of additional airline routes which have opened up new markets for the Irish tourism industry.

-recognises the various marketing initiatives which have brought tremendous success and increased visitors numbers in particular the ‘Gathering’, the ‘Wild Atlantic Way’ and the ‘Ireland’s Ancient East’ initiatives.

- calls on the Government to retain the 9% VAT rate on a multi-annual basis which will allow and encourage the tourism industry to plan ambitiously for the future.

- calls on the Government to identify ways of spreading visitor numbers to towns and villages across Ireland that may have not traditionally benefited from the tourism industry.

- calls on the Government to continue its investment in “green tourism” initiatives which will position Ireland to benefit from this fast growing sector.

- calls on the Government to establish new funding streams where tourism entrepreneurs can be encouraged to apply for assistance in developing initiatives which will ultimately expand our tourism offering.
[Senators Martin Conway, Jerry Buttimer, Paddy Burke, Colm Burke, Ray Butler,  Maria Byrne, Paudie Coffey,  Paul Coghlan, , Frank Feighan, Maura Hopkins, Tim Lombard, Gabrielle McFadden, Michelle Mulherin,  Catherine Noone, Kieran O’Donnell, John O’Mahony, Joe O’Reilly, James Reilly, Neale Richmond]