Home > Private Members (D) > Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business...

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil)
Tuesday 26th September 2017

That Dáil Éireann:
— the devastating flooding that affected homes, businesses and farmsteads across County Donegal in August 2017;

— that the damage inflicted by the floods on local roads is estimated at €15.3 million;

— the challenges of climate change and increasingly volatile weather patterns; and

— the planned €430 million, six year programme of capital investment in flood defence measures as part of the Government’s overall Capital Investment Plan 2016–2021;
acknowledges the hard work of local authority staff, volunteers, Defence Forces personnel and emergency services in assisting those affected by the floods;

— the delays in the roll out of humanitarian assistance to affected households;

— the one week delay in announcing funding for a Red Cross administered humanitarian fund to help small local businesses, sports clubs and voluntary community groups with application forms not available until ten days after the flooding;

— the failure to confirm a fund to assist the repair of damage to farms until two weeks after the flooding, with application forms not made available until three weeks after the event;

— the exclusion of farmers who have lost grain crops, potato crops and unharvested silage, and damage to agricultural roads from funding;

—the failure to commit to separate funding for sports organisations who experienced significant damage in excess of the €20,000 cap covered by the Red Cross fund;

—the failure to commit to funding for repair and restoration of public amenities such as Swan Park in Buncrana;

—the on-going underspend in flood defence schemes as part of capital expenditure plans;

—the Government decision not to include any provision in Ireland’s Rural Development Programme (RDP) 2014–2020 to compensate farmers for losses caused by adverse weather; and

—the continued delays and denials of insurance for homeowners and businesses across the country due to flooding concerns; and
calls on the Government to:

—ensure households and businesses are given adequate flood insurance, in particular for those in areas where the Office of Public Works has invested in standard 1 in 100 year flood defence structures, and facilitate the passage of Fianna Fáil legislation on this specific matter;

—address capital underspend in the roll out of investment in flood defences and increase spending in the road infrastructure;

—amend the RDP to encompass specific provisions on supporting farmers affected by adverse weather conditions;

—expand the terms of the funding support scheme for the farming community in County Donegal to include farmers who have lost grain crops, potato crops and unharvested silage, and damage to agricultural roads;

—provide ring-fenced funding to restore sporting facilities and public amenities destroyed in the County Donegal flooding and not covered by the Red Cross fund;

—ensure that steps are taken so that delays experienced in the establishment of funding support schemes in County Donegal are not repeated in future flooding events; and

—fully and expeditiously implement Government commitments to alleviate financial burdens on households, sporting facilities, farmsteads, businesses and infrastructure in County Donegal through the humanitarian assistance fund and specific agricultural supports.”

— Charlie McConalogue, Eugene Murphy, Barry Cowen, Bobby Aylward, John Brassil, Declan Breathnach, James Browne, Mary Butler, Thomas Byrne, Jackie Cahill, Dara Calleary, Pat Casey, Shane Cassells, Jack Chambers, Lisa M. Chambers, Niall Collins, John Curran, Stephen S. Donnelly, Timmy Dooley, Sean Fleming, Pat the Cope Gallagher, Seán Haughey, Billy Kelleher, John Lahart, James Lawless, Marc MacSharry, Micheál Martin, Michael McGrath, John McGuinness, Aindrias Moynihan, Michael Moynihan, Margaret Murphy O'Mahony, Darragh O'Brien, Jim O'Callaghan, Éamon Ó Cuív, Willie O'Dea, Kevin O'Keeffe, Fiona O'Loughlin, Frank O'Rourke, Anne Rabbitte, Eamon Scanlon, Brendan Smith, Niamh Smyth, Robert Troy.