Home > Press Releases > Houses of the Oireachtas IPTV service...

Houses of the Oireachtas IPTV service on the Government Networks

Please note that this multicast IPTV service is only available on the Government Networks in Ireland.

That is, this service is available to Government Departments, Offices and Agencies connected to the Government Networks.

There are seven channels available:-

Address:Port - Description

udp://@ - Oireachtas TV

udp://@ - Dáil

udp://@ - Seanad

udp://@ - Committee Room 1

udp://@ - Committee Room 2

udp://@ - Committee Room 3

udp://@ - Committee Room 4


The televisions channels are converted from the SDI video format supplied by the Oireachtas Broadcasting Unit, and and provided as multicast MPEG4 at 3 MBit/sec. using digital encoders.

This service is provided in association with the HEAnet and the Department of Pubic Expenditure and Reform.

Live coverage of the Dáil, Seanad, and 4 committee channels is now available, and the Oireachtas TV channel si also provided.

The open source media player VLC now supports the codec used by this system.


(1) Download the latest version of VLC from www.videolan.org and install it (note that earlier versions don’t support the required codec, so don’t skip this step if you already have an older version)

(2) Start Via

(3) Select Media

(4) Select Open Network Stream

(5) Enter the appropriate url e.g. for the Dáil enter udp://@

(7) Click “Play”

Should all relevant access rules be correct, you will see the Dáil live channel.

Further details about the MPEG4 IPTV service on the Government Networks are available in this document: Requirements for IPTV Service (in PDF format).

For technical queries, please contact

Ken Barclay,
Government Networks
Office of the Government CIO

Phone: +353 (0) 1 604 5018.

email: ken.barclay@per.gov.ie

For further information, or comments about this Parliamentary IPTV service, please contact:

Mr. Leo Bollins, Webmaster - Principal Clerk, Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas Service,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2,

Phone: + 353 (0) 1 618 3568
Fax: + 353 (0) 1 618 4035

email: Leo.Bollins@Oireachtas.ie

For queries in relation to Oireachtas broadcasting, please contact:

Ms Cáit Hayes
Broadcast Manager, Oireachtas Broadcasting Unit
Houses of the Oireachtas Service
Leinster House
Dublin 2

Phone: + 353 (0) 1 618 4250
Fax: + 353 (0) 1 618 4246

e-mail: Broadcast.Manager@Oireachtas.ie or Cait.Hayes@oireachtas.ie


Users who read this document also viewed..
01 October 2005 - The Joint Committee on Broadcasting and Parliamentary more ...
22 December 2003 - Houses of the Oireachtas home page, including This Week in the more ...
08 December 2008 - Flash Webcasting at 640 * 360 resolution. more ...
21 February 2006 - Parliamentary IPTV Multicast service of Dáil Eireann and Seanad more ...
25 January 2007 - For a full Listing of Acts prior to 2003 (See more ...