Written Answers. - Rent Tribunal.


asked the Minister for the Environment the names of the current members of the Rent Tribunal; the date of appointment of each of these members; whether those appointments were published; the number of vacancies currently existing on the panel; and the length of time for which each vacancy has existed.

Under the Housing (Private Rented Dwellings) (Amendment) Act, 1983, (section 2) the following members were appointed to the tribunal on 16 December 1988:

Chairman: Mrs. Moya Quinlan. Vice-Chairmen: Mr. Gerard Brennan; Mr. Eoin Deering; Ms. Mary Devins; Mr. Joseph Hogan; Mr. Desmond Gunn; Mr. Leo Martin. Members: Mr. Gerald J. Colgan; Mr. Thomas Leonard; Ms. Louise Moloney; Mr. Aidan J. McNulty; Mr. Shane Redmond; Mr. William Stanbridge.

In accordance with section 2 (3) (c) of the Act, the order of appointment was published inIris Oifigiúil on 23 December 1988. There is no fixed number of members laid down by statute for the tribunal. I am satisfied that the present complement is sufficient to meet the current workload.